The StandOUTs

6d4397b7b97dad61d97589981c811033

Another week of music in the hip-hop genre has passed, whether you have been up to date on the new releases of the week or to busy to stay in tune, I’m here for you with my five standout tracks of the week. Agree or Disagree? let me know.

Achievement – G Eazy

G-Eazy has been putting in work for a long time and even put out an album this year that I thought was dope. He released two songs this week, the other one called Get Away (Remix) but I ended up liking this a little bit one more. Check it out here.

Chimes Remix – Hudson Mohawke feat. Pusha T, Future, French Montana, & Travi$ Scott

Hudson Mohawke is a producer for Kanye West’s GOOD Music label, he’s helped produce various songs for the label, the most notable being Mercy. Hudson released an EP called Chimes early this year that had just an instrumental of this song out but now he recruited various rap artists to rap over it and its fire. Check it out here:

Medication Meditation- Flying Lotus feat. Krayzie Bone

Flying Lotus is also a producer in the rap game that produces very psychedelic beats and has worked with very famous artists such as Kendrick Lamar on the song Never Catch Me. He released an album this year called You’re Dead which is one of my favorites albums of the year. This song came out this week intended for the new GTA soundtrack, I think this beat is crazy and Bone Thugs N Harmony Krayzie Bone rides the beat perfectly. Check it out here:

Lunch Money- Pusha T

Pusha T is a GOOD Music artist also who was a member of the well known rap duo Clipse. He released one of my favorite album of 2013 in My Name is My Name and seems to be back for more with this new single produced by Kanye. Listen to it here:

M.A.F.E. Project- BJ the Chicago Kid

I believe Bj the Chicago Kid is the next Nate Dogg as hes done some great hooks over the years on songs such as Studio by Schoolboy Q and Chance the Rapper’s Everybody’s Something. After a few years since his last release he just released his 4th mixtape and I’ve been listening to it all week. My favorite off of this is the song One in a Million where he puts his own remix on one of my favorite R. Kelly tracks R&B Thug. If you like R&B I recommend giving this a listen, download the mixtape here.

Bonus: Shady Classics Mixtape – Eminem

Eminem just released this on friday, I haven’t listened to it yet but I’m assuming the 65 track mixtape has a lot of great songs on it. Download it here

That concludes this weeks standOUTs check back next week for another 5 songs of the week. Again you can follow the blog on twitter @UICstandouts or me personally @LFH25 as I also post new music I like weekly. See you next week.

Leave a Reply

