The StandOUTs: Best Rap Music of the Week of 1/25

big sean

 

This week was probably the best week mainstream rap has seen in 2015 as many high profile artists released new songs. Although 2014 was a slow year for the mainstream, it is very apparent that 2015 will be the year were almost all of the famous rap icons will be dropping a project, get ready.

Blessings – Big Sean feat. Drake & Kanye West

Big Sean set the twitter world crazy this week when he announced that his new album “Dark Sky Paradise” will be dropping February 24. Coming off his highly successful first single IDFWU he decided to release a new single this week alongside Drake and Kanye. After hearing this I already know this gonna be the ultimate flex anthem in rap music for 2015. Listen below.

BBoy- Meek Mill feat. Big Sean & A$AP Ferg

So this music video was somehow leaked earlier this week by a hacker on the internet who obviously has too much time on their hands. However, I am grateful for that person because this this song is absolute fire. Big Sean’s verses and flow on this song are insane had me like this. Listen below.

Nothing But Net – Travi$ Scott feat. Partynextdoor & Young Thug 

Travi$ Scott decided to release two songs this week, this one and another entitled “High Fashion” as well as announcing a tour with Young Thug (They’ll be in Chicago March 8th). The beat on this is so insane that I’ve already determined that I’m gonna play this song every time I decide to hit the gym to practice my jumpshot. Listen below.

Speed Racer & Warrior – Young Thug

Young Thug won 2014 and it looks like he’s not planning to slow down in 2015 either with these releases this week. Honestly, half the time I have no idea what Thugger is saying, for example I thought for the longest time he said on the song “Stoner” he was saying ” I feel like Facebook” instead of “I feel like Fabo”. These songs are no different in me comprehending what hes saying at certain points but I feel thats what makes his music so interesting. Both of the beats on these songs are dope and thug shines on both of them. Listen below.

Drive Me Crazy – Kaytranada & Vic Mensa

Like I said before 2015 is the year of Vic Mensa and this song supports my theory even more. Vic’s flow along with this beat go perfectly together and give the listener a taste of how crazy his next project “Street Lights” will be.

 

That concludes this special addition of The Standouts, for more regular updates on new music like the Facebook Page or follow the twitter account. You can also follow me personally @LFH25. See you next week.

Leave a Reply

