Blog22

Hey friends! Ray here. Oh man, a couple more weeks stand between me and graduation. In retrospect it feels weird graduating, like the entirety of my college career just collapsed to a single point and I feel thrust into the real world. I’m not a fan.

Lately I’ve been feeling quite uneasy and anxious but also  optimistic about my future. Maybe you do too, dear reader, with finals and final projects rushing forth pretty damn fast, with the promise of summer tailing shortly. As for me I’ll be in grad school in the fall—everything between now and then is up in the air. If there’s one token of advice I can award you, it’s this: “Cross the bridge when you get there.” Well, as of now, I’m not sure where the bridges are, and I’m about to ford this frighteningly long river separating me from summer. This upcoming fortnight shouldn’t be as stifling as I anticipated because most of my projects are already completed; on the other hand, my equanimity doesn’t secure my GPA through final exams. There’s still a lot of studying to be done with four scary finals.

The soundtrack for this week is another monumental mashup album. (See my post last week here!) Bruneaux’s Pure Magic has the guts and glory worthy enough to be deemed monumental. It uses a wide variety of samples, from older R&B to newer pop and hip hop and everything in between—all blended seamlessly with no rough edges. It should satisfy all music lovers by the sheer diversity of samples alone. The versatility of all 10–30 second hits used in this 50-minute long extravaganza makes it the perfect soundtrack for studying, marathon-running, or pregaming. I mean, as I’m writing this blog it’s playing in my iTunes!

Pure Magic kicks off with “Monster” by Kanye, immediately into a stealthy blend of “X Gon’ Give It To Ya” by DMX and “Frontier Psychiatrist” by The Avalanches. From there, a healthy crop of artists, from Outkast to Katy Perry to Lupe all add to the mashup powerhouse that Pure Magic is. What other combos are there?

  • “My Girl” by The Temptations • “Don’t Trip” by Trina feat. Lil Wayne (listen!)
  • “D.A.N.C.E.” by Justice • “Like This” by Mims (listen!)
  • “Bring Em Out” by T.I. • “This Love” by Maroon 5 (listen!)
  • “Saturday Night” by Bay City Rollers • “King of Anything” by Sara Bareilles (listen!)
  • “BedRock” by Young Money • “1st Of Tha Month” by Bone Thugs-n-Harmony (listen!)
  • “Freaky Girl” by Gucci Mane feat. Ludacris • “Rehab” by Amy Winehouse (listen!)
  • “Power” by Kanye West • “E.T.” by Katy Perry • “Damn!” by Youngbloodz feat. Lil Jon (listen!)
  • “Lean Wit It, Rock Wit It” by Dem Franchize Boys • “You Make My Dreams” by Hall & Oates (listen!)
  • “Edge of Glory” by Lady Gaga • “Oh Boy” by Cam’ron (listen!)
  • “Touch the Sky” by Kanye West feat. Lupe Fiasco • “Home” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros (listen!)
  • “Shake” by Ying Yang Twins feat. Pitiful • “Saturday in the Park” by Chicago (listen!)
  • “Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster The People • “Money to Blow” by Birman feat. Drake & Lil Wayne (listen!)
  • “Last Friday Night” by Katy Perry • “Push It” by Salt-N-Pepa • “Swagger Jagger” by Cher Lloyd (listen!)
  • “Left, Right, Left” by Drama • “If You Leave” by Orchestral Manoeuvers in the Dark (listen!)
  • “Ugly” by Bubba Sparxxx • “California” by Phantom Planet (listen!)
  • “Magic” by Pilot • “Outta Your Mind” by Lil Jon feat. LMFAO (listen!)

Those are probably my favorite ones out of the entire album. No one can argue that the Magic/Lil Jon finale doesn’t kick ass. Support the artist, like his Facebook page, download the album, and make it the soundtrack for your finals studying frenzy!

How’s studying going? Any summer plans? Comment below!

One thought on “Monumental Mashup Albums: Pure Magic by Bruneaux

Leave a Reply

