Chi City R&B vocalist Audrey Valentine is coming thru with new music and has an EP titled Love Hangover slated to drop in the very near future. Got a chance to snag a minute with her for an interview. Check it below for more on Audrey V., new music, and the scoop on Love Hangover EP.

unnamed-1

B Roc – Tell us your feelings about your first EP Love Hangover. How did you come up with the title?

Audrey V. – I’m absolutely overjoyed about putting out Love Hangover, my first EP… it’s been something I’ve wanted to do for years now. It’s such a great feeling to finally be bringing this dream of mine to life. I came up with the title because I equate being in love to sometimes having the symptoms most people suffer from when experiencing a hangover. You’re unable to focus, dizzy, loss of energy, headache, etc. It’s not everyone’s perception of being in love, and definitely not what love is supposed to feel like. Just something I have dealt with personally and wanted to depict.

B Roc – What do you hope your fans get from your music?

Audrey V. – That I am a genuine artist, just as genuine and sincere as I am a normal person, and that i’m not afraid to speak about and share topics I have dealt with in my own life. I also hope that I can empower someone, and uplift someone from things I have endured in my own experiences.

B Roc – Who would you like to collab with in the future? 

Audrey V. – Let me try not to make this a long list lol- Certainly Pharrell, Drake, Jidenna (although he’s pretty new I LOVE his style), Missy Elliott, August Alsina, Chance the Rapper, Bj the Chicago Kid, Nicki Minaj, The Weeknd, SZA, etc.

@MsAudreyVee IG msaudreyvee

B Roc – Where did you draw your inspiration for your music? 

Audrey V. – From my most recent relationship. It’s funny how someone once told me that everyone will have their ONE terrible relationship in life. Well IF that’s the case, I definitely just went through mine. But instead of continuing to be sad and miserable about the fact that things did not work the way I had imagined they would, I’ve decided to express all of these emotions through my music. In doing so, I think I’m much more at piece with myself mentally as well.

B Roc – Do any of your songs have a backstory? And if so, share. 

Audrey V. – Each and every one of them. They all tell a story about that part of my life that sometimes scares to put out for display. Each of my tracks are a way of me explaining a certain emotion I had felt while being in that relationship. Most of it is sadness, but in this sadness I have found love and joy within myself. Putting all of these emotions into this EP has made me feel like I can turn a painful situation into something so beautiful, and I really hope I can touch others through this music I put out. Sometimes when you go through the most pain, that’s when you create your best work. And I really feel like this is some of the best music I’ve ever made.

unnamed

S/O to:
Oz (Producer) IG @flossmoboz
D. Lylez (Vocal Producer/Artist Feature) IG @dlylez
Kenny Thompson (Artist Feature) IG @kennytmusic

# # # # # EARLY WARNING # # # # #

Audrey Valentine will come through to 4 CHI CITY RADIO, with more exclusives from Love Hangover! Stay posted!!!

Thanks for ROCKIN wit me!!! Roc4Chi_City
IG @rockwitb_roc @4chi_cityradio
Log on to uicradio.org Sunday nights 6-8pm 
4 Chi City Radio Hosted by B Roc

Leave a Reply

