The Elle – 4 Chi City Radio Recap

Chicago R&B soul vocalist The Elle, came through to 4 CHI CITY RADIO, with new music and latest on updates. Here’s a recap of her interview.

The Elle

facebook.com/theellemusic

B Roc – Name your top five favorite artists?
The Elle – In no particular order…

Stevie Wonder – He’s one artist that I have a really hard time selecting a favorite album of. His catalog is so rich musically, vocally and lyrically.

Amy Winehouse – Amy changed the way I listened to music, her songwriting is so bold, poetic and frank. She also has influenced to be very honest and unapologetic in my songwriting.

A Tribe Called Quest – I think I’m incapable of getting sick of Tribe… their music is timeless to me. Midnight Marauders is one of my all time favorite albums.

Minnie Riperton – the unsung soul songstress. Minnie is another artist who has great songwriting, it’s a shame most people don’t know her catalog outside of “Lovin’ You” (and maybe “Inside My Love”)

Erykah Badu – I’m a day one Badu fan, I used to steal the Baduizm album out of my mom’s room to listen to Appletree and Four Leaf clover. She is incomparable.

B Roc – What inspired you to become a singer/artist?
The Elle – Singing was my childhood dream but I gave up on it to pursue something practical. I was in the midst of figuring out what I wanted to do with my life when I lost a family member who happened to be a musician. I sang at the funeral and was given a prophecy by someone who said that I had a gift that was beyond just my voice and needed to use the gifts that God gave me, so here I am.

B Roc – Tell us about one of your biggest accomplishments as an artist? Or most memorable moment.
The Elle – Growing vocally is a big one, I’ve been taking lessons on and off for two years with jazz vocalist Michele Thomas. I didn’t have much confidence in my singing when I first started but the harder I work the better my voice gets and the more refined my ear gets as well.

B Roc – What’s something you want people to know about you as an artist?
The Elle – I’m not an artist you should expect a certain thing from. I’m always evolving and I do my best to put my entire self into my art. I’d like to think I’m a unique person so you never know what you’ll get. One day I’ll be singing a ballad, the next dat I may be singing you some gangsta rap song… That’s just me.

B Roc – What do you hate & what do you love about Chicago?
The Elle – I love how well-rounded Chicago is culturally. You have good food, so much to do, diversity, the lake, great music, and great art.

What I don’t like so much, is when I come back from visiting somewhere else and I’m hit in the face with the smell of urine in the air.

B Roc – What’s something about you, that you want people to know?
The Elle – I’m a very complex individual who is 100% her own person. I have a lot of stories to tell, and I hope that they inspire and resonate with people. If I can do that, I’ve fulfilled my purpose here on earth.

Want to know more about The Elle?
Check out her website www.theellemusic.com
Follow her via  facebook.com/theellemusic

Thanks for ROCKIN wit me!!! Roc4Chi_City
IG @rockwitb_roc @4chi_cityradio
Log on to uicradio.org Sunday nights 6-8pm
4 CHI CITY RADIO: Hosted by B ROC

Leave a Reply

