Giraffage comes from  California; more specifically The Bay.  I visted “My Mother’s Land” for our birthdays. It was in February when I was sent the newest music video featuring dogs being visited by extra-dimensional beings.  Next thing I know Pearl is telling me me I was locked in for the event. I was ecstatic! This was a long time in the making.

Despite my wait -two hours, of which I was tempted to just abandon the camera and pay for the tickets myself- I had an unforgettable time. As always, I look at these shows as a sort of spiritual cleansing. Giraffage’s bass driven and glitchy pops were scenes from a robotically cartoonish children’s animation.

My favorite jam is as always, Tell Me. Besides this one his live remix / edit of Hotline Bling is obnoxiously expressive. The screen behind him showing the iconic face of Drake crying. This mix

between Hotline Bling, Tell Me, and then his remix of Stardust’ “Music Sounds Better With You” was something out of a euphoric dream.  I was in a paegant for the sorority Delta Phi Epsilon where I performed Hotline Bling as well. After transcribing it, I learned the chords and played it for their event Deepher Dudes. I know you all want to see the video, I know its super embarrassing.  sO AGA

His Miley Cyrus remix toned it down for me. I felt fatigued, my forehead was slapped. I felt a large slap hit  me across the forehead that made me go seek something to drink.

When Slow Magic appeared he banged the ever loving hell out his drums. Again, in the trenches (WE OUT HERE!) I was snapping mad pictures. I know that Slow Magic picked up on my kinetic energy and started looking at me for pics. All I could think of staring at him was “This man with the mask is crazy!”

I’ve rarely seen anyone put that much work into the drums. He slapped them around like a punching bag. So intense were his mallets that he had to have someone sporting his clothes spot the mics for the drums. This man literally beat the sound off his drums.

Slow Magic is a mysterious being. His Tribal mask reminiscent of darkish culty daft punk yet still holding on to friendly and aesthetically pleasing elements. I could see he had trouble looking through the mask he donned, but regardless he still head that show down! His buildup and drop combos combined with the interaction he’s able to control with the crowd just shows he is the master of his dojo.

 

 

Part One: 13lack 4riday

 

Leave a Reply

