lollalalla

Lolla tickets go on sale this Tuesday with the lineup being released soon after. This got me thinking about what Rap acts will be at the festival come July. After doing some research and looking at other festivals, I’ve come up with 10 artists I think will be at lolla this year. Only time will tell if I’m correct, check them out below.

  1. Vince Staples

vince

Vince at Lolla seems almost inevitable this year as he has been booked for many festivals across the nation this summer and is due to hit Chicago sometime. After his solid debut album and numerous mixtapes, I’ll be really excited to see Vince at lolla and support one of raps best young stars. Check out one of my favorite songs by him below.

2. Joey Bada$$

joey

Just like Vince, Joey seems like a lock for lolla as well as he’s doing numerous festival stops across the country this summer. Also this being his first time at the festival it will be intriguing to see how he performs here. Needless to say I would be very excited to see this, as his debut album B4DA$$ was one of my favorites of 2015. Check out of my favorites from that album below.

3. D.R.A.M.

dram

The “Cha Cha” rapper will be hitting the road a lot this summer and it would seem likely Grant Park will be one of the along the way. D.R.A.M. is one of the most unique new artists in the game and a live performance at lolla would definitely be a can’t miss event.

4. Tory Lanez

tory

One of Toronto’s best new stars not named Drake or the Weeknd has been rumored to hit the lolla stage for months now and it looks likely to happen. You can bet I’ll be in attendance for this as Tory Lanez has become one of favorite new artists in the past year. Check out one of my favorite songs by him below.

5. Fetty Wap

fetty

This makes too much sense for Lolla not to book as a subheadliner. Probably the hottest mainstream rapper out there, this seems like a lock for 2016. I wouldn’t mind hearing Trap Queen or 679 in Grant Park though come July.

6. Mac Miller

mac

Of all the rappers that are due for a performance at Lolla, Mac Miller is high on that list. His last album and mixtape I’ve enjoyed a lot, so a performance from him would be something special this summer. Check out his song “Weekend” featuring Miguel below.

7. DJ Khaled

dj khaled

You might be asking I thought DJ Khaled doesn’t perform? Well he does, which is basically him being a hype man for an hour rapping his own songs  lol. Although this sounds ridiculously stupid, Lolla might do it because Khaled is booked for other festivals and he’s so popular right now it would be stupid to pass up. Not gonna lie I wouldn’t mind laughing at him talk about his keys to success for an hour lol.

8. Future

future

This again would make a lot of sense for lolla to book in 2016. What a better way of catching the eye of all festival goers by getting the hottest rapper to perform? This right here would be ridiculous and you can count on me being their for Future Hendrix to bless the stage. In honor of March check out Future’s video below.

9. J Cole

j-cole-hbo-special-640x360

This is all but confirmed from Billboard that J. Cole will be returning to Lolla in 2016. I was there the last time he performed at Lolla and it was a can’t miss show. Now with the hype behind him from 2014 Forest Hills Drive, this show will be one of the weekends most anticipated events. I’m gonna give you little throwback J. Cole song to get you ready below.

10. Kanye West

kanye

Ok this might be a stretch because a lot of people are saying this will not happen, but I am still holding out hope since Kanye has to come back to Lolla sometime. I heard that his 2008 performance was legendary and with the release of The Life Of Pablo, a Kanye concert will be life changing lol. I hope by July, I’ll be able to see Kanye at lolla for the 4th time, but this time in Grant Park. Check out footage from his last perfomance at Lolla below.

 

That concludes this edition of The Standouts, for more regular updates on new music like the Facebook Page or follow the twitter account. You can also follow me personally @LFH25.

Leave a Reply

