Today I decided to dive into my old music libraries and I am both extremely nostalgic and appalled at the same time. Here’s a top ten list of things that I found that I may or may not be extremely proud or extremely ashamed of:

1.  Oxford Comma by Vampire Weekend

This song was on the first vinyl I ever bought that wasn’t from a thrift store. Shout out to the 4 or 5 times I got to explain what an oxford comma was after I googled what an oxford comma was after I listened to this song. What a classic.

2. Good Times Gonna Come by Aqualung

This was the first song on the first Mix CD anyone ever made me. It was just a compilation of stressful angst songs that I’ve never heard of and its still one of my favorite CDs to this day #TeamStaySad

3. Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons

This song will never stop being my #1 jam. I always feel like I’m riding horses into the sunset when I listen to this. If I was ever to get a basic boho white girl tattoo it would probably be M&S lyrics from this song. M&S had one of their stopovers in my hometown and it was the first music festival I ever attended and it definitely shaped my music tastes and jump started my love of music.

4. Hero by Regina Spektor

 

I watched 500 Days of Summer for the first time in like 7th grade and I wasn’t prepared to be that sad. Regina Spektor single-handedly started my angst phase.

5. All of the Lights by Kanye

Oh my God this album came out almost 6 years ago and I don’t know what to do with that information. I felt so popular with the red album art on my iPod touch.6.  All Signs Point to Lauderdale by ADTR

6.  All Signs Point to Lauderdale by ADTR

I found the What Separates Me From You CD behind the bookshelf in my room. This video is what made me start wearing black on black on black…

7.  Snow Patrol- Chasing Cars

The ‘I didn’t realize I was this sad growing up’ song. It literally has over 150 plays on my iTunes account and I have it so it’s not on my phone anymore. I’m appalled at myself for not being extremely proud of this.

8. Fireflies by Owl City

Not only was this the first iTunes purchase I’ve ever made but I also have the saxophone part from when my high school band teacher tried to be trendy and made us play it in band. I’m always down for 1,000 hugs from 10,000 lighting bugs

9. Beautiful Girls by Sean Kingston

You’re lying if you didn’t turn up at the middle school function when this song came on.

10. Telephone by Lady Gaga ft. Beyonce

Watching this video again was an emotional journey. They’ve both come so far I feel like a proud mother. There was never anything that is going to match up to early gaga outfits.

Leave a Reply

