If I’m being completely and realistically, 100% honest with myself, nobody will ever hear the content I have made, nor will anyone ever care. But does that mean I’m going to stop creating my music? No.

I have been writing music for as long as I can remember, and I have recently begun to learn how to produce. I’m not quite sure what I’ll end up doing with everything I have created, but what I do know is that it has become my main outlet.

Everyone has gone through extreme highs and extreme lows in their life. From love to heartbreak to mental health and so on and so on, life just hits us with stuff that’s deep. Deep, but real. When we find ourselves in these moments, we feel these emotions so strongly that it’s hard to figure out what to do with them.

Rather these moments in life are positive or negative, or a mixture of both, when they hit, they hit like a tidal wave and suddenly you’re drowning in a sea of emotions; so how do you stop yourself from drowning?

I turn to music. I take a blank page and I turn it into art; art created with the most honest and surreal feelings that can possibly be felt. And suddenly, I am no longer drowning.

I strongly believe creating music is an outlet everyone should try at some point in their life. Nothing feels better than letting go and losing yourself in the moment when you’re writing, or creating a new sound. All those emotions you didn’t know how to process or how to deal with, have now been expressed. It’s a weight lifted off your shoulders, and it’s therapeutic.

It’s euphoric when you have finished a song. It feels like you’ve just given birth to your first child. All the lyrics, the storyline, every beat, every melody, has been crafted in such a personal and original way, that you just want to cradle your little music baby, and love it and protect it, and tuck it in at night. It’s a very beautiful thing.

So, if you feel like you have a lot going on in your head and in your heart, and you don’t really know what to do with it all, I highly encourage you to give music a chance. Other people might not like what you have created, and they might not understand it, but that’s the magic in it. Music is very personal to its creator. If you have expressed what you have wanted to express, and you’re happy with what you have made, then be proud of it, and continue to create! I know that’s what I’m going to do, and what I plan to do, for the rest of my life.

“Song writing is something about the expression of the heart, the intellect and the soul”

-Annie Lennox

f130d34e8a1145a9942ef7c781907280

Leave a Reply

