“Sonia, are you still blogging?”

I’ve heard this line more than a few times within the past year. 2016 was a rough year for everyone, and I was no exception from that. While (mostly) everything turned out okay, transitioning back into doing what I love took a lot of time and healing.

15774917_10207989269280161_6657413459248750578_o

~New year, new me~ and all that jazz

At the end of 2015, I had a ~midlife crisis~ at the ripe age of 20 and realized forcing myself through a Business major that I loathed wasn’t working and was taking a serious toll on my mental health. I was totally disillusioned, and didn’t know what my interests were nor what I wanted to do with my life for what I later realized was a long time coming.

So, with roughly two weeks before the beginning of the Spring 2016 semester, I dropped all my classes and registered for all Communication classes despite not yet officially being in the major.

It was a big transition for me, suddenly changing my entire mindset and flinging myself into studying new material from what I had been the past 3 and a half years. But with an odd combination of semi-ironic self-loathing and a hysterical need to throw caution to the wind, I fully intended on realigning my life and taking on this new challenge. 

While changing one’s major may not be a big deal to some, it was for me. I tried, and hoped, to get through school with a Marketing degree and be able to get into whichever job industry I wanted. But after one or ten too many soul-crushing business classes, I realized I shouldn’t be forcing myself to endlessly suffer through classes that would be irrelevant to what I wanted to do in the future anyway.

The transition into all Comm classes was abrupt but refreshing. Classes were fast-paced and intensive, and I was motivated by a set of standards that were required to stay as an LAS major, but I genuinely had interest in my classes and looked forward to learning! How strange!

That being said, with such a quick shift in my life and my mindset, a few things had to be put on the back burner in order for me to move forward. Unfortunately, that included blogging. I still published as often as I could last year, but that frequency diminished over time as projects and an 8 AM class and midterms and finals took over my existence.

Then summer came, and I immediately jumped into working part-time at home and taking summer school (gotta stay on that grind in order to graduate asap). Midway through the summer, I visited France for two weeks (and got super sunburnt in the process) and remembered how it felt to actually be relaxed for a few moments. I also got a rad internship with a music publication called Consequence of Sound that I recently completed, in which I got a chance to learn and get some experience with music journalism. I wrote anything from album reviews to artist highlights to Lollapalooza coverage for a publication I had already been reading for a few years, and that accomplishment reignited my love for writing and for music once again. It was a combination of all these activities that kept me busy (and sane) being back in the suburbs for three months.

img_8237Me and my favorite French ladies Léa and Lucile in a Roman Colosseum in France~

That being said, I had a full plate throughout the summer, which carried into this past Fall semester. I moved on with the Comm major and had to devote a lot of time and effort, not to mention mental strain on my studies (*cough* stats class of death*cough*) as well as continuing with my internship.

It was a long, rough semester full of stress and an inconsistent sleeping schedule, but I pulled through once again (and finally passed a stats class!!). Now, a full year after my abrupt change of major and mental perspective, I find myself with a clearer head and a better sense of who I am and what I want to do with my future. I still have a long way to go, but I’ve been working to reach this point in my life for a long time coming, and I’m proud of the work I’ve done to get here. Learn from my mistakes, and interpret them as you will.

15400324_10211165187428484_8180063277312718772_n

Just a few of the new pals I’ve made in the past year or so ~

So this is my official comeback. I’ve missed blogging and I’ve missed you all. I’ve had a few ideas stirring up in my mind, including a continuation of my k-pop discovery and evolution that I mentioned in my previous blog, My K-Pop Awakening, and a few other things music-related to tickle your fancy. I hope you’ll look forward to them. I’m also on air Wednesdays from 2-6 PM with my gurl Purl for our show Midnight with Pearl Girl and Sonia Universe, where we give you a taste of what music we’re into and what we can’t stop talking about that day, so be sure to tune in and check out our Facebook page for more frequent updates!

I’ll talk to you guys soon!

-Sonia

Leave a Reply

