I Had Fun At A Club

As many of my friends could testify, I am not the clubbing type. In fact, I’m the totally lame stay at home and read a book or grab food with a friend when I have the time to type. However, I’ve had friendships where their prime past time was jumping around or grinding about at clubs, and therefore I have been to my fair share of them.

And you may have guessed correctly…I’ve always hated it. Maybe I wasn’t as drunk as everyone there or maybe everyone could sense that I didn’t belong, but it has always been uncomfortable and awkward, not to mention equally as annoying being felt around by some dude probably 20 years older than me. Gross exaggeration, but also probably not.

womb_inside

The thing is I love to dance too. I’m not very good at it, and often my friends will tell me after, “you were a little too into it back there” or “what was that”, which probably paints a pretty good picture of how great I look out there. Regardless, I really do enjoy dancing, although often weirdly and eccentric, and yet the club has never been a place I felt good at.

This weekend, however, a large sum of my friends made a trip down to U of I where we danced and sang more in one weekend than I have this entire school year. It was truly one of the funnest weekends I’ve had in a really long time, and a lot of it was spent at a club. The music felt like it was remixed all to the same beat and the song selection in general could have been a whole lot better, but that didn’t seem to stop us from laying it all out on the dance floor.

This had everything to do with the people I was with, which were some of the goofiest most fun-loving people I know, and I accredit such an excellent weekend all to them. They even made a sticky, loud, and hot-mess of a bar a great success. And so, I conclude, that almost anything can be made positive or negative by the people you surround yourself with and your attitude. This has been your Motivational Monday. See you at the clubs.

Leave a Reply

