“She say that she a wanderlust, but she ain’t seen the world

So much to do at 21, you feel invincible”

Blackbear by far makes the cut in my top five favorite artists list. His music has a certain sound that stands out from any other r&b artist or rapper. He is just a goofy guy with a big heart that I am hella soft for.

One of his songs in particular that has always resonated within me is Wanderlust. This song is basically about a girl who is a wanderlust, but is also pretty clueless about the world.

Not to sound cheesy or basic, but, I feel highly connected to the wanderlust girl.

If you’re not familiar with the term wanderlust, it means to have a strong desire or impulse to travel. To wander and roam the planet.

I wasn’t raised in a wealthy family. There were no Disney World trips in the summer, or ski trip vacations in the winter. I’m 19 years old and I’ve never been on a plane and I’ve never been outside of the Midwest. And it is driving me insane.

I like to think of myself as cultured. That I know a lot about the world, and music, and the arts. That I am a free spirit. An indigo child. A wanderlust.  But… yet I have never left the cornfield states?

I’m kidding myself. I cannot be cultured if I haven’t seen the world. There is so much out there I haven’t seen or experienced, and I really am just a clueless college freshman from Chicago, Illinois at the end of the day.

Think about all the cities you’ve never been to. Or all of the states, countries, and continents. Think about the 7 billion people on this planet you have yet to meet and learn from. All of the things you have yet to try and to do. It makes my head spin just thinking about it.

I have high hopes and aspirations though. Just like Blackbear’s wanderlust girl who “wants to be an actress and a singer like Selena,” so do I. I have dreams of creating and travelling and growing.

I’ve recently purchased plane tickets to California and Florida this summer. While I’m beyond grateful for these future experiences, I don’t plan on stopping there.

I want 2017 to be my year of growth. I plan to travel as much as I can. I plan to meet as many unique individuals as possible. I want to make something out of myself and live my life the way I have always wanted.

tumblr_ndyry584hw1r5gmiko1_500

19 is such a strange age. It’s an age where you don’t really know yourself or know where your future lies, and I don’t think I’ll be able to figure it out if I remain in the same place.

Though I have not physically traveled much, my soul is definitely a wanderlust. I have that yearn to find something higher in life, and I promise I will find it before Earth and Nibiru collide. I mean, none of us live forever, so why not make the most of life and see what the world has to offer while we can.

There is so much undiscovered beauty in this world; let’s not take it for granted. I do not want to be caged up or tied down while the rest of the world is going on around me. And who knows, maybe I’ll find myself partying it up with the legend Blackbear himself during my future endeavors.

 

 

Leave a Reply

