I’ve never been the type of person to do my makeup with contour, blush, bronzer etc. I am a makeup lover but not to that extent. Mainly because I’m lazy, I suck at applying makeup and although practice makes perfect, practice is frustrating. I’ve managed to not completely suck at applying a couple things like foundation, concealer, and mascara.

Anyways, a couple years ago for a school project I began looking into the testing done on animals for makeup companies. Saddened by what I found, I decided the little makeup I do use should be cruelty free/vegan. Everyone is entitled to their own choices on what they want to use, whether it’s cruelty free, or not it’s ultimately up to you. I don’t think anyone has a right to criticize someone else’s decisions, no matter how strongly you believe in something such as cruelty free makeup. All I want to do is inform, inform those looking for cruelty free options that are awesome.

Now there is a difference, cruelty free means it is not tested on animals but might contain some animal-derived ingredients like milk, honey, beeswax. Vegan makeup products contain no animal-derived ingredients and a lot of times are also cruelty free however, some vegan brands might test on animals because of certain laws, where they make their products, and/or their parent company.

cruelty-free-logos

There are some cruelty free and vegan makeup brands that are more high end and expensive. As I mentioned before I’m a makeup lover but not to the extent where I want to spend $30 on a 6 oz concealer, to each their own though. I’ve only used the cruelty free/vegan drugstore brands, so I can only comment on those, I will add some high end options though.

(All of these can be found at Target)

Elf:


Elf’s brushes are awesome, both the white and black collections.
The baked eye shadow trios are true to color, and much more pigmented if you wet them a bit.
The primer is good as well, it has a silicone feel to it so if you don’t like that, I wouldn’t recommend using it. I prefer pomade to darken my eyebrows but the pencil is good for a drugstore brand, similar to Maybelline’s brow retractable pencil.

The mineral infused mascara is gorgeous, it really does lengthen your eyelashes. The concealer I’ve only used a couple times, it’s a bit difficult to blend out but with a beauty blender it works fine. Last but not least, the make-up set mist gives your makeup a natural look.

Wet n Wild:

wetnwildI’ve repurchased the mega liner a couple times. The eyeliner is black with no shimmer to it, the brush makes it easy to apply, and it stays on all day. I only have the concealer and blush brush, both packaging states “Cruelty free / Gluten free / Vegan free” I’m not too sure if every brush in this collection is both cruelty free and vegan. However, the two brushes I do use are soft, and are greater for blending.

NYX:

nyx

The butter lipsticks, and soft matte lip creams are both true to color and creamy. The soft matte lip cream may need reapplying within a couple hours, but for only $6 it’s an awesome quick lipstick. The matter bronzer is also true to color, highly pigmented, stays on all day.

Burt’s Bees:

burtsbeesIf I was stuck on a deserted island and could only bring a couple things, this tinted lip balm would most likely be one of those items. Moisturizes your lips, gives you shine and some tint.

(website: https://colourpop.com/)

Colourpop:

colourpop.jpg

I’ve only tried the lippie stix and ultra matte lip from this brand, but I’m hooked. These really do last all day and for only $5-$10 you get more than what you’re paying for. True to color and pigmented, the ultra matte dries quickly, it is also always better with a lip liner. The lippie stix are creamy and easy to apply.

Some other products I’ve repurchased or plan to that are also cruelty free are:

(All of these can be found at a Sally’s Beauty Supply)

Queen Helene & Shea Moisture:

queenhelene

I’ve repurchased the Queen Helene masque at least four times. Both this masque and the African Black Soap from Shea Moisture freshen up your face and help prevent breakouts. The Queen Helene cocoa butter lotion I’ve only purchased once but I know I’ll repurchase it.

Some high-end cruelty free makeup brands:

Anastasia Beverly Hills

Kat Von D

Lime Crime

Nars

Tarte

 

 

Leave a Reply

