In my opinion, 2017 has been one of Hip-Hop’s best years, but it’s been lackluster from some rappers who have been quiet for quite some time, a little too quiet. So here’s a list of rappers who should release some new music.

Jay Rock

Jay Rock is signed to independent label Top Dawg Entertainment (TDE), the same label that manages Kendrick Lamar, SZA, ScHoolboy Q, Ab-Soul, and Isaiah Rashad, He is also part of supergroup, Black Hippy (consisting of Kendrick, Q, and Soul). He’s been very quiet for the most part, except for one tweet with him previewing a song earlier this year, and was scheduled for a release this year, but for some unknown reason he hasn’t released anything yet. His last project was 90059 back in late 2015.


Pro Era 

The Pro Era is one of New York’s youngest groups full of talented rappers such as their leader Joey Bada$$, who this year released his album All-Amerikkkan Badass, along with members Nyck Caution and Kirk Knight who also released their EP, Nyck@Knight, and Dirty Sanchez and Jab47 who released their mixtape 4MM (4 My Mexicanz), but other members Aaron Rose, Chuck Strangers, CJ Fly, Dessy Hinds, Rokamouth, Jakk the Rhymer haven’t released any new music in a while and some like Aaron, Chuck, Jab, Dirty and Joey were hinted at dropping more music this year. As well as Jab, Dirty, Jakk, and Rokamouth as the 47 sub-group also hinted at some drops this year. Another big thing is a new big group project which they haven’t dropped one since 2014. Maybe they’ll drop some music collectively in December as they are scheduled to drop King Capital the posthumous album of the late Capital STEEZ, on the anniversary of his death. But they’ve been pushing a lot of their projects back especially, King Capital, so here’s hoping for a Pro Era December. Releasing these projects may be the thing that brings attention back to the New York Hip-Hop scene.



This Atlanta native is a very talented rapper with a folk and soul approach to his music. has been very quiet, but has been featured on some tracks this past year such as Jaden Smith’s song “Falcon” and Taylor Bennett’s song “Nobody Tell a Name.” His last project was All We Need in late 2015.



Slaughterhouse, signed to Eminem’s record label, Shady Records is a supergroup consisting of veteran MC’s Joell Ortiz, Royce Da 5’9″, KXNG Crooked and Joe Budden. Their Glass House album was set to release a couple years ago, but never came to fruition, and with seemingly all the members of Slaughterhouse have confirmed that it will never be released. Additionally, with Joe Budden mentioning that he’s retired on the show Everyday Struggle, every chance he gets. However, Royce has said that there is a new Slaughterhouse album in the works, so maybe Joe Budden is acting just like Lupe Fiasco who’s said he’s retired and comes back with something new to gain attention. Additionally, Joe has joked about leaking Glass House, so it’s up in the air.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s